Leftover Spin on Veggie Soup

Plus a wilted spinach salad

Instead of eating the exact same soup I had for lunch yesterday, I added about a third of a can of white beans and a chopped baked sweet potato

to the Garden Vegetable Soup, plus the little bit of turkey stock I had left from last night’s dinner. So the soup was a little different, and I used several leftovers to make it. I looked at what I had sitting in the fridge to come up with this plan.
For a salad I fried two eggs and some veggies in olive oil and put them over about a cup of spinach. The spinach wilts nicely under the heat of the cooked veggies and eggs. Again I chose vegetables I had sitting in the fridge. I sauted these in evoo with salt and papper, then added about 1/4 teaspoon of balsamic vinegar about one minute before taking the veggies out of the skillet and then frying the eggs. The vinegar isn’t necessary but I like it.
I could only eat about half the soup so now I have another leftover 😀.

4 thoughts on “Leftover Spin on Veggie Soup”

  1. Great idea – using leftovers to create another dish. I also found that it saves a lot of money and helps to avoid sodium present in canned beans if I buy dry beans of those kinds I most frequently use, cook a whole batch, then portion them out, label, and freeze. This way I always have my beans ready and precooked.

    Like

Leave a Reply

