2/3/17 baked sweet potato breakfast, veggie quiche, fake out, treat.

 

IMG_20170203_090450.jpg
Breakfast was a baked sweet potato, a spoon of Smuckers Natural peanut butter, and a drizzle of maple syrup. I sprinkled cinnamon over this and had it with milk and coffee. Baked sweet potatoes make an easy breakfast. Bake them on the weekend, and each weekday grab one and top with nuts/nut butter, honey or maple syrup, or good ricotta. Don’t forget to sprinkle some cinnamon for extra sweetness and antioxidants. Sweet potatoes make up about 70% of the daily calorie intake in the Traditional Okinawan Diet, which is associated with healthy longevity.

img_20170203_114651
Lunch was a Microwave veggie quiche. I threw in most of the veggies left over from last week’s shopping, and ate the last of the grapes on the side.

IMG_20170203_172609.jpg
Dinner was Chinese fake out. I added a pack of steamable Asian Vegetables to a package of General Tso’s Chicken, both Aldi brand. I served this with the last of the broccoli.
I froze the few items left from last week’s shopping when I put away the new groceries. This will probably end up as vegetable soup.

IMG_20170203_112212.jpg
Last night I worried about slipping into old habits at the grocery store today. Before committing to losing 200 pounds, I always got a pint of ice cream each week and ate it after putting the groceries away. This was an improvement from my half-gallon days. I knew I didn’t want to do that, but I wondered if I should have a smaller treat. I have learned I do best when I don’t feel deprived. So I bought a twin pack Milky Way candy bar for Belle and me to share as dessert. I got cherries to go with it so we would get some nutrients and feel more satisfied. I savored every bite, enjoying it far more than too much ice cream.

IMG_20170203_184304.jpg

Leave a Reply

