2/6/17 Yummy easy mini pizzas, cinnamon pita crisps, soy tuna burger, and no meltdown.

IMG_20170206_181422.jpg

What’s full of colorful and crispy veggies, cheesy, and super easy? GimmeSomeOven’s veggie Pizza cupsI diced sweet peppers, tomatoes, green onions, yellow squash, broccoli, and carrots and used about 1/2 a tablespoon of cream cheese in the base of each wonton cup instead of pizza sauce. Then we each added our choice of toppings (everything for me) and a pinch of mozzarella on top. The veggies left are going on tomorrow’s pizza. Earlier in the day, I blanched all the veggies one at a time, except the tomatoes, and added that nutrient rich cooking liquid to the soup I had for lunch.

IMG_20170206_130040.jpg

Breakfast was cinnamon pita crisps with berries. Directions for the pitas are posted under recipes – breakfasts.

img_20170206_130110

For lunch I pureed the soup left from last night and made soy tuna burgers to go with it by mixing one can of tuna, one egg, about 1/4 cup oats, some diced veggies (one tablespoon each green onion and sweet peppers), one tablespoon soy sauce, 1/4 teaspoon each sriracha and grainy mustard, a squirt of lemon juice, and pepper. This turned out yummy but salty. I let this sit a few minutes while I worked on the soup, then fried four small patties in one teaspoon of sesame oil. I ate two of the patties with the soup. Tigre loves tuna meals.

img_20170206_132427

For exercise I did three sets of ten squats and a ten minute core workout from fitness blender. My weight plus an injured right rotator cuff  make getting up from the floor difficult, so I exercised on my bed. It worked just fine.

Last night I could have had a meltdown. My husband Elvis (really) works far enough away that we usually only see him on weekends, and missing him hits me harder some days, like last night. I had planned to make a big salad for myself for dinner after he left yesterday, but I was exhausted. I didn’t want to do any work – not even salad chewing. I wanted something easy and comforting. Had I not been so focused on my health and weight loss, thanks to sparkpeople articles and blogging, this emotional exhaustion could have prompted over consumption of fast food and/or ice cream. But I took a nap, then made vegetable soup. The soup was comforting, and didn’t require too much work prepping or chewing 😇.

 

Leave a Reply

