2/26/17 Best peanut butter, smoochie, a great dinner

One day Belle and I craved a sweet treat, but dieting at the time, I had no sweets at home. So ‘smoochie’ was born. I don’t remember if I found the recipe online or made it up, but here it is:

img_20170226_082304

Ingredients per serving

  • 2 tbs peanut butter
  • 2 tsp brown sugar
  • Dash vanilla extract
  • 1/3 c oats
  • Cinnamon to taste

Cream the peanut butter, sugar, and extract, then mix in the oats and cinnamon. 325 calories, 18g fat, 32g carb, 10g protein, 5g fiber, if no sugar added peanut butter is used.

Smuckers Natural is the best peanut butter brand, made only from peanuts and salt. I love the flavor and texture so much one tablespoon is satisfying.

Meals

Today for breakfast I topped apple slices with smoochie and about 100 calories of 60% cocoa chips (i.e. a few), trading the cup of milk I usually warm for my coffee for those chips, but it was worth it. Being too sick for milk this week reminded me I like black coffee.

img_20170226_115519

For lunch Belle and I enjoyed BLT subs with fruit. I chose a nectarine. Romaine is great on a BLT and more nutrient dense than most lettuces. We each used half of a wheat sub roll.

I tried a new recipe at dinner – The Best Oven Roasted Sweet Potatoes Ever. This is indescribably delicious. Everyone must eat this before they die. Belle accidentally dropped one potato and sank to the floor, wailing. She threatened me with her fork when I claimed I wanted the last two, and I’ve had to promise to make it again tomorrow night.

IMG_20170226_174351.jpg

We also had tuna steaks and a bit of spinach. I chopped it, added a little lemon juice and S&P, then stirred in shredded Parmesan and microwaved 30 seconds. This turned out good also. But nothing compared to the potatoes.

img_20170226_174602

Exercise

I cleaned a lot, as my kitchen was unrecognizable from me being too ill to clean up after Belle cooking for herself for most of the week. I also did three sets of ten reps of squats with leg lifts, bicep curls 10 lbs, tricep dips 10 lbs, and some stretching. Working back into it slowly.

Focus and Motivate

Got several kind and encouraging comments – thanks! Commented on sparkpeople, facebook, and other blogs. Read 6 articles from sparkpeople.

Leave a Reply

