3/10/17 Fridge Clean Out Meals; Rest Day

Eat

 

IMG_20170310_090131

Plain Greek yogurt with cinnamon and vanilla extract stirred in, topped with the last cara cara orange from the old bag and some blueberries was breakfast. I added the berries for color and presentation mainly, but they added sweet tartness to the parfait (and nutrients). I realized on the first bite I no longer need to add sweetener to my yogurt. The cinnamon and vanilla perk up the flavor a lot. I ate one Nonni’s biscotti with this, dunking him in my black coffee (yum).

IMG_20170310_155307

 

 

For lunch I threw a lot of leftovers – the ingredients I prepped for salad yesterday before I got a headache, which included a greek yogurt dressing I made, some salsa left from nachos, and some chickpeas – into the microwave for two minutes and tossed them with angel hair pasta and a tablespoon of jarred pesto. I didn’t expect this to taste so great. I love fridge clean out meals.

IMG_20170310_174013

 

Dinner was chicken fried rice, using the rice left from this week’s take out, and egg roll stuffing, which is just cabbage that had been in the fridge a while and carrot sautéed with a little bacon, sesame oil, and seasoning (the recipe is under side dishes). Belle loves egg rolls and liked this.

Move

My hips hurt a lot from yesterday’s walk, so I did some stretches I learned when I took yoga. This helped.

I’m resting today.

Focus and motivate

Read 6 articles at sparkpeople and commented on others’ successes on their community page. Sparkpeople offers a very comprehensive healthy lifestyle change program. I skipped facebook weight loss groups today because so much of what I see there involves meal replacements, restricting entire food groups, or other ‘quick fixes’ like drinking vinegar or taking supplements, and given my goals and restrictive diet-induced eating disorder, that kind of thinking doesn’t work for me.

Heal

EFT and I intend to meditate and do a little more restorative yoga – focussing on my sore hips – before bed.

 

Leave a Reply

