Two Ingredient Creamy Spinach

IMG_20170428_081448.jpg

One bag of baby spinach + one ounce of cream cheese, salt and pepper. Place in a large microwavable container, cover with plastic wrap, and microwave until the spinach begins to wilt (about two minutes for me). Then stir the melted cheese into the spinach and enjoy.

Today I topped this with a baked sweet potato sprinkled with pumpkin pie spice, and I liked the combination, further pleased with how many nutrients I got out of a satisfying 250 calorie meal. Ordinarily I would probably have gotten two servings out of the spinach, but I ate too much last week, so this week I’m eating more fruits and vegetables than usual to help me readjust to eating fewer calories. Fewer calories doesn’t always mean fewer bites, but I still insist on pops of flavor and calorie dense ingredients, like cheese and bacon.

Leave a Reply

